Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I recently bought a used bike that came with a 2010 36 Van RC2. Guy said he was a wrench but when I received the bike I had a hard time believing somone who would send a bike in that condition would actually work on them professionally.

Anyways, having now put on a solid 20 hours on it I've noticed a little oil leaking from the seals but nothing to serious.

My question is, should I just replace the seals with new fox seals (are enduros necessary with the new seals?) or should I replace seals AND oil?

Thanks

·
Zero to drunk in $20
84 Posts
Hey, I have a 2010 36 Van R and I just did my first service on it. It turns out that it really isn't a big deal, as long as you have the right tools. I also skipped servicing the FIT damper which is significantly more in depth. It took me about 3 hours to get it done, but now that I have some experience I guess I could do it an hour.

If you decide to replace the seals you'll have to replace the oil anyways. I recommend doing that, new seals are only about $25. If anything that should buy you some piece of mind and you'll know the job is done right.

Theres a ton of debate over OEM vs Enduro seals. I went with OEM. When I next service my fork I'm going to try the Enduro seals. Search a bit on MTBR and you'll find a ton of opinions. What I've gotten is that Enduro seals keep everything out better while OEM seals have less stiction. I've also read a ton of accounts disputing both those things. Good luck figuring out this one.

EDIT: Just want to mention that the difference between the R and RC2 is just the damper, I think. Otherwise changing the seals and oil is the same procedure for your fork and mine.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So did you use the Red AND green oil like fox says?

I'm going to go with Foxs' new 2012 seals and try those out.