Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to te bike packing/ touring scene and I am buying myself a new steel frame to build for the tour across America I will be venturing on next year. I want to put some avid bb7 brakes on the bike and I want to know what size rotors to get. The frame I will be building on Will either be a tout terrain grande route from Peter white cycles or a Gunnar grande disc. I'm thinking 160 on the front and 140 on the rear? What size rotors do you guys use in your disc touring rigs?
thanks,
Chris

·
Lord Thunderbottom
915 Posts
I think it's going to depend on your weight and type of touring, based on the bikes listed I'm assuming road touring

If you're under clyde size 160/140 sounds fine, I run that size on my road/cross bike, I'm 240# so if you're close to that with the bike loaded there shouldn't be issues

I'd go 180/160 or 180/180 for myself, looking at 300#+ loaded up

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We'll I'd like to keep the weight of my gear at around 40-45 pounds via my ortlieb bags. I way 190# so total it would be around 240 give or take with some if the other misc gear.

·
Registered
897 Posts
When you have 240 pounds on the bike I wouldn't worry about the weight difference between a 160mm rotor and a 140mm rotor. I have 160s front and rear on my cross bike with BB7s and I think that they work great. If I was going to be carrying extra weight I might want to have 180/160 because I like the front to have a little more power with the same pressure, but BB7s are really adjustable for how they feel at the lever so it can be done that way also.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
180/160 for my off road rig. I'm sure you'll be fine with 160/140 but 160/160 makes more sense per bsieb rotating comment.