Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Those of you who have read my previous posts know that I have no shame in coming out with total newb questions. I've been biking for about a year, mainly AM, with a crappy bike I plan on upgrading soon. I looked at a Trek Fuel 70 and Fuel 80 today, I plan on looking at some stumpjumpers and a friend's Ibex ignition-3 soon, as well.

However, I don't know @#$! about bikes mechanically. I read the forums here and people say they always bring a spare tube, and honestly, I wouldn't know what to do with a tube even if I did have a spare. When people talk about upgrading/repairing their bikes, I generally would have no clue how to do anything like that. When I asked about hydration systems, a lot of people mentioned that they pack a leatherman, pliers, or multitool when they go out; meanwhile, I have no idea what I might need something like that for when out riding.

So what, in your opinion, should the average rider be able to do, mechanically speaking? What should I learn to repair/replace/tend to on my own? So far, I haven't had any problems with my bike since my LBS gave it a once-over last summer, but I am concerned that I don't have the slightest bit of knowledge of how to fix anything if it does go wrong.

·
Hairy man
4,923 Posts
Grammar Hammer said:
So what, in your opinion, should the average rider be able to do, mechanically speaking? What should I learn to repair/replace/tend to on my own? So far, I haven't had any problems with my bike since my LBS gave it a once-over last summer, but I am concerned that I don't have the slightest bit of knowledge of how to fix anything if it does go wrong.