Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I am a newbie to the 29er world. I have just started looking into what frame I want to go with. But certainly going to be a rigid 29er. I currently ride a geared 26 with 98 xtr group so I would have some parts for a build up.. Eventually I might even go towards a single speed but I have the fear of commitment right now about going hangerless.
It seems like the two most popular bikes i.e. the KM (Karate Monkey) or the inbreed, I am afraid to say, are built for a younger age group? With cartoon graphics and their namesake. Not that I am looking for a sophisticated custom titanium. I have also heard about the best low cost ways of getting into the 29er world is the two aforementioned frames.The best I have seen around for the two is 400$ then you still have wheels and what not even after a component swap. What about a fisher 29 looks like the cheap way to go.
Anyway just wanted some other feedback.

·
Bored
1,982 Posts
The Surly or Inbred are probably your best options. You will have to deal with the graphics unfortunately. Also, check out Soma has a 29" offering the Juice. Its only a bit more than the Surly. A lot of the Kona Unit 2-9's are coming with cable stops (but not all). You can buy a new right drop out and have the gears option.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I might be answering my own question.

What do you guys think of the Voodoo Aizan.. It looks like a Niner bikes One niner with a hanger and sliding drop outs.. Also whats the opinion of ecentric bottom brackets vs. sliding drop outs?

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Check out VooDoo.

trimlightly said: