Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I like dual suspension.
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guy's! I'm starting to learn how to do my bicycle maintenance myself so I'm new to all this.

I want to know what I should use to clean my chain with before I begin to apply lube to it.
Any specific brand of stuff that works great?

Thanks!

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
I like finish line ecotech degreaser, its bio degradable and cleans off with water
some people use paint thinner, just keep it off any bearings (like your hub & bottom bracket)
the absoloute best way is to take the chain off but it can be done in place

·
...idios...
5,662 Posts
"I'm not sure if it worked or not because I'm not really sure how to tell!"

Would you describe the chain as being 'clean' when you were finished? Did it have any dirt or old lube left on it?

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
Bavarian3900 said:
Hmmm, but it says "cleans chain soil."

I used it to clean mine. I'm not sure if it worked or not because I'm not really sure how to tell!
well , It doesnt say degreaser. Not sure what chain soils mean. the way its labeled it sounds like its a general bike wash, maybe chain soils mean what your chain throws up on your bike. If it works use it. you can tell if your chain is clean by touching it, is it oily or greasy? then it didnt work

·
...idios...
5,662 Posts
I think by 'chain' soil' it means the crap that can get flung onto the frame from the chain, especially if you use a 'wet' lube. On a side note, if your chain is flinging lube onto your frame, you can be sure you have too much lube.
A clean chain look like anything else which is clean, however...

Here is what the inside link of a chain looks like when you take it apart (don't do this to a working chain!)...

Metal Household hardware Brass Circle Aluminium