Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So what is your favorite grease for packin' them bearings? I'm getting some XT hubs soon, and I hear that the factory setup and grease...well... sucks. There are tons of different greases out there- Finish Line, Park, Pedro's, DuMond, Phil Wood, Triflow, etc. What do you recommend?? Thanks, ya'll.

·
T , V , & K Rider
2,342 Posts
Phil Wood is my main bearing grease!

:D
gregk said:
So what is your favorite grease for packin' them bearings? I'm getting some XT hubs soon, and I hear that the factory setup and grease...well... sucks. There are tons of different greases out there- Finish Line, Park, Pedro's, DuMond, Phil Wood, Triflow, etc. What do you recommend?? Thanks, ya'll.
I agree, I have been using Phil Wood grease in my ole XT hubs for many years and it has never let me down! I cleaned and repacked them at least once a year, I am sure all the top brand lubes are good though! TIG. ;)

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
I use marine grade outboard motor grease (like for shafts, jets, and such). It is scary thick and sticky stuff. The adhesion keeps it on the bearings instead of getting pushed aside like the yellow Sh!mano junk. No washout either. Cheap, and comes in a rather fetching shade of blue.

·
Registered
313 Posts
I too am a fan of marine grease. The marine grease has additives that resist corrosion better. Over the years, I have had problems with rusty wheel bearings (lots of rain rides, also the bike roof rack driving thru rain did not help either).

I bought a tube of yamaha marine grease for cheap. I have not had a hub or pedal bearing rust on me since.....for 3years. It looks like the park tools grease I used to use.

·
Do It Yourself
5,720 Posts
tscheezy said: