Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are the best upgrades for your buck. I'm a new month old owner of a motobecane 700ds from bikes direct. I've upgrade (made lighter) my handlebars, seat post, and stem, what is a good upgrade for a few hundred bucks or less? I've noticed you can shave a lot of weight in the seat and the wheelset/tires. I've been scouting the clearance and blowouts at pricepoint, cambria bike, ediscount, etc... Just wondering what the next step is... Thought about a new rear shock, new wheelset... Not sure what to do next.
So, surely I'll catch guff for getting a motobecane, I'm a newb to the mountain bike scene and am looking for a decent ride till I can afford to upgrade entirely. Just looking for some advice
Thanks for any help,
Ben

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
Wheelset-if your current wheels are boat anchors but that can be pricey.
The most effective weight drop for your buck would definitely be tires/tubeless, cranks, and pedals especially if you use platforms-get lighter sealed platforms or go clipless if you like.

But after taking off the big weight violators, ride it til it breaks then replace. Technology only getting better and cheaper so you'll get a better deal down the road.

·
Tool
1,973 Posts
+1 on tubeless. It's inexpensive to convert standard wheels/tires to tubeless, and in addition to the typical weight reduction (the weight savings varies with each implementation), you will enjoy the performance benefits of better grip and lower rolling resistance.

I see any weight reduction as a bonus. Going tubeless is worth it for the increased traction and reduced rolling resistance alone.

-Pete

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
spreadthedecay said: