Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Maaaaan
4,259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using both Shimano and Sram drivetrains for over ten years now, and I can honestly say, that the Shimano drivetrain components currently have an edge in reliability and shifting performance. Especially since Shimano came out with the Shadow lineup.
The one exception, is the X.0 and X9 dérailleurs in downhill use.
The Sram chains in particular have a terrible lifespan.
I have been getting about twice the mileage out of HG-93 chains, as the Sram 900 series.
I also have less problems with missed shifts or dropping chains.
The Sram cassettes bend much easier as well.
Truvative, which is Sram's crankset maker, is clearly behind the Shimano cranksets.

I can't figure out, why people think Sram is so great right now.

·
Registered
851 Posts
Which Sram cassette did you have troubles with? I had alot of problems with a few of there cheaper models, but many of my friends have alot of success with there nice 900 series cassette. I just switched to an XT cassette...

·
Feeding your addiction
2,648 Posts
Ericmopar said:
I've been using both Shimano and Sram drivetrains for over ten years now, and I can honestly say, that the Shimano drivetrain components currently have an edge in reliability and shifting performance. Especially since Shimano came out with the Shadow lineup.
The one exception, is the X.0 and X9 dérailleurs in downhill use.
The Sram chains in particular have a terrible lifespan.
I have been getting about twice the mileage out of HG-93 chains, as the Sram 900 series.
I also have less problems with missed shifts or dropping chains.
The Sram cassettes bend much easier as well.
Truvative, which is Sram's crankset maker, is clearly behind the Shimano cranksets.

I can't figure out, why people think Sram is so great right now.