Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What makes a clyde?

Im 6.3, 225#

Is it more of a racing category? I have not seen at the LBS a separate 'clyde' section.
Do manufacturers make different products for different weights,

The reason I ask, is Im fairly new to biking and have caught a little bit of the 'upgradeanitus' bug.

One of the area's Im looking into is a new front sus. fork.

Cheers :D

·
Probably drunk right now
6,753 Posts
A Clyde is a Big Fat Ass....

smiley said:
What makes a clyde?

Im 6.3, 225#

Is it more of a racing category? I have not seen at the LBS a separate 'clyde' section.
Do manufacturers make different products for different weights,

The reason I ask, is Im fairly new to biking and have caught a little bit of the 'upgradeanitus' bug.

One of the area's Im looking into is a new front sus. fork.

Cheers :D
You can take my word for it, or you can read through a couple of pages of discussion here:http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=10561

Do manufacturers make different products for different weights? Yes. For example, someone who is normal wears smaller clothes would typically wear a smaller jerseys. Those who wear larger clothes tend to wear bigger jerseys. Most fork and shock OEM's offer different packages based on rider weight. Some bikes cater to the larger rider.

A fork recommendation depends on the type of riding you plan on doing. For cross country riding, I'm a big fan of the Marzocchi Marathon fork.

Ken

·
Clydesdale Warrior
155 Posts
smiley said:
What makes a clyde?
Clydesdale was originally a racing class for those over 200lbs, but it has become a generic term for large (>200lb) MTB riders.

There are a few stores, and a few manufacturers that cater to large riders. For example: Supergo has a "Clydesdale" section, Kona makes the "Hoss" (a Clyde specific hardtail), and some clothing manufacturers make large and tall sizes.