Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm a mountainbiker and, after a long struggle, am finally mentally ready to get a road bike for complementary road training (as well as for some leisure riding); I usually ride on my own and hardly ever in a big bunch. What I'm saying is that I don't intend to become a dedicated "roadie". Perhaps I will take part in a couple of iconic races a year, but more for the sake of their social side and as motivators and fitness tests rather than to seriously compete for top trophies.

My question pertains to the gearing I should have on my bike. I've already figured which bike I'd like => Giant TCR Composite 2. It comes with a 10-speed 11-23T cassette and a double ring 39-53T crankset. The thing is that I've no experience with bikes of this sort, thus am not sure whether such aggressive gears are appropriate considering: first, intended use as indicated above; second, that New Zealand roads are often hilly, with up-hills being steep and long; and finally, that Wellington is a very windy place, and riding against strong head-wind is a real battle where I absolutely appreciate soft gears of my MTB allowing me to spin with high cadence.

To the point. I seem to have four options:

(1) leave everything as is

(2) change the crankset to a triple ring 30-39-52T

(3) change the cassette to 12-27T

(4) do both (2) + (3)

Hard-core roadies tell me "you don't need this / your legs will condition", but my thinking is:

Re (1) -- may be just too stiff

Re (2) -- I like this idea the most, but a mechanic at my LBS told that it would be a messy refit and that he wouldn't be keen to do that for me

Re (3) -- that's what the said mechanic recommended to address my concerns re (1), the downside being greater increments between gears [not sure which would give a greater total range, (2) or (3)]

Re (4) -- perhaps an overkill

What's your experience, guys? Many thanks in advance!