Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey all,
i know what technical means to me, but then again i am new to the sport and only ride with one other newbie (my wife), so i realize i can either be completely wrong or (more likely) only have a vague and limited idea of what "technical" skills and trails are.

for example, i THINK when i practice going up a steep hill, with lots of roots and steps, picking the right line, maintaining my momentum, shifting my weight, and avoiding hitting rocks with my crank arms, i am working on one aspect of basic technical skills up a slightly technical terrain. am i right? or does technical only mean stuff like wheelies, bunny hops, trackstands, etc?

can anyone provide any more examples of what technical skills AND technical trails can be? that way i'll know what types of trails i am missing and what skills i should practice. thanks.

ant

·
Registered
82 Posts
One of my favorite trails site: http://www.mtbikewnc.com uses a 4 level rating system to explain the technical factor of trails. The scale is as follows.

Level 1(Few Obstacles)
Trail surface has relatively few obstacles, such as a gravel road surface.

Level 2(Some Obstacles)
Trail surfaces has some obstacles, such as small roots, rocks, steps, or easy stream crossings. Generally will not require pushing for technically advanced riders.

Level 3(Moderately Rough)
Trail surface has some rough areas, with possibly loose rocks, drop-offs, log bridges, mud, and stream crossings. May require some pushing.

Level 4(Very Rough)
Trail surface may have large drop-offs, loose rocks, ruts and roots, and you may encounter difficult stream crossings or wadings. Pushing is almost certain except for those with supreme technical ability.

·
Registered
608 Posts
technical