Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
-_-
4,749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this is a sort of carry over from a pm conversation going on. How did you come up with your Member Name and what is the significance or meaning. Yeah some are pretty apparent, but I just always was curious on peoples thought processes.

·
-_-
4,749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I'll even reply first...

Why? Well I recently made an I.P.(intellectual property) sale of my blog, email, and forum member name rights and priviliges to a bike company who wanted to use it for business purposes, and I couldn't say "NO." to the amount they offered. When I went to change the name, a friend had been hinting that the name he thought of applied more to me, and willingly relinquished his. (There was this show that in the 90's had a character named "Ovi", a shortened version of my last name, I am a longtime pro-wrench, people kept saying "Go see Obi, he'll fix it!!", it fitted and people respond to it well, so there you go. I'm trying to just embrace it and go along with it, as we all know, we could be called worse things, right??

It's the classic question of "What's in a Name?", so what's in your name?

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
"Fixin' to " is a Texas colloquialism that means, "getting ready to." I ride fixed gear bikes, so when I'm about to leave, I'm fixin' to go. Somehow it's not as clever now as it was the night I came up with it after a few IPAs!

·
-_-
4,749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Cool nonetheless...

Cool nonetheless, thanks for the reply's!!

Now that I feel that this isn't a totally ignored and useless thread, hopefully some others will join in on the conversation!

·
Registered
9 Posts
obi.one.speed.only said:
OK, this is a sort of carry over from a pm conversation going on. How did you come up with your Member Name and what is the significance or meaning. Yeah some are pretty apparent, but I just always was curious on peoples thought processes.