Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, I recently bought a BLT frame off ebay and built it up with a motobecane parts donor. So, with those components (mostly XTR drivetrain, elixr cr brakes) plus some other new parts, I have a pretty nice bike. However, I'm wondering about my fork which is a Reba Race (120mm). I'm pretty new to suspension but I do like this fork, so far as I've used it. But I believe the bike was originally spec'd with longer travel. If I do change to a longer or adjustable travel fork - in line with the original design - how might this enhance handling. Most of my riding so far has been fairly tight roller coaster singletrack with small drops and jumps (maybe 2-3 feet) and lots of roots. Adjustable travel is very appealing to me - at least in theory - but I don't really want to buy it just to say I have it. Commentary and fork recommendations are appreciated. Also, is there a thread or website that would bring me up to date with current suspension technologies without doing multiple searches for individual terms? Thanks

·
Registered
1,388 Posts
RS Revelation is a nice fork , the set I had where 130mm down to 100mm I think, nice air fork performed well, the latest version is now up to 140mm-110mm and the option for a 20mm maxle light, which would stiffen the front end up, and you would notice an nice improvement through the roots and any rough stuff.

·
Registered
102 Posts
yea the revelations are nice and is what i have on mine. you could also go for the pike which seems to be 'the' fork for the BLT1, 140mm hits the sweet spot + adjustability. the other common adjustable is the fox talas 36 which gives you up to 160mm for steeper down hill sections. unless you are concerned with weight, I would go for the talas 36 as I know sometimes i wish i had more travel on the front for rocky descents.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·