Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may seem like a strange question, but I'm trying to get a feel for what riders are looking for in photos at races. Over the last three years I've shot a bunch of XC, DH and CX races in the Central Calif area. I try to get different locations for the photos at each race, but the photos tend to look the same after the years, so time for some research.

FYI: I do not charge for these photos, so I'm not making any money from this, it keeps me busy while other people race (and keeps me from crashing) and I would like to think I'm a better photographer than racer (I'm really slow as a rider). These two folders show the latest XC and DH photos if you want to see what I'm talking about.

CCCX XC folder:
http://bikeguy.smugmug.com/2008%20CCCX%20Mountain%20Bike%20XC%20Races/537319

CCCX DH folder:
http://bikeguy.smugmug.com/gallery/5032160_iY6tW#302199798_Eon39

While I know what I like, that does not mean that other people have to like the same thing.

Typically for a DH race, I'll look for a steep / drop section or corner after a straight for photos of riders. While I'll shoot during any practice time, I'll try to stay in the same place for the whole race, so there are a lot of photos of different riders in the same spot. I really cannot move very far with riders 30 seconds to a minute apart. Very rarely will there be more than one rider in a photo, since DH is more of an individual race against the clock.

Typically for a XC race, I'll look for an uphill, downhill, or corner where I can sit inside the corner safely and out of the way. I'll try to take photos from a different spot for each lap of the race. Whenever I can get a view of multiple racers in a frame (actual racing) I'll try to shoot that as XC is a race against other riders.

What I would like to know is what are you looking for in race pictures (other than you winning the race)?