Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding Mountain Bikes since 1981 but as far as technical knowlege is concerned I would probably be considered a newby. I am planning on using most of the components I now have to build a Pivot Mach 5. My question is: I will be buying a new crankset, probably xtr m970. I am 53 years old, in pretty good shape but knees are beginning to show signs of age(not alot of cartilage left). Would I be better buying a longer or shorter crank??? My instincts say shorter so there is less knee bending but not sure if leverage is maybe more important. Maybe it doesn't make any difference. Thanks in advance for the advice.

·
Registered
764 Posts
I'd say go with what fits your leg length and riding style best. I run 170mm cranks, but had always used 175's previously. The extra 5mm is for ground clearance, since where I ride is steep/rooty/aggressive. I think the issue with the knees is best resolved with proper seat height as opposed to crank arm length.

·
Registered
954 Posts
Agree. Adjusting to a different riding position to use more of the upper leg muscle and glutes (usually means a little more forward) if that doesnt make your ride more sketchy would relieve the stress off the knee area. Used to have weak knees but it doesn't plague me anymore after I adapt to each bike's setup, regardless of crank length.

My 3 bikes-
roadie: 170mm
AM bike: 175mm
SS: 180mm

·
ColoradoCoolBreeze
679 Posts
Are you a spinner or masher?
Shorter allows for a faster/smoother cadience. Much like raodie or XC racing.
Longer gives you more torque and slow your cadience for a more relaxed ride..

I'm a 5'9" masher, 55 years old and prefer 180mm crankarms.

·
Registered
422 Posts
I'm 6'3" masher, 56 y/o, and run 180mm cranks.