Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a Jamis Durango as my first "real" bike and I was wondering what it can handle as far as drops, small jumps, wheelies, bunny hops, etc...being a hardtail I wasn't sure if leaving the ground would be murder on the frame. I'm just getting into biking again (since before I had my drivers license) so I won't be going off of any HUGE drops anytime soon, but even bunny hopping or taking a couple foot drops concerns me... is there any special technique to use going off small jumps or drops and what should I consider when deciding if the bike can handle it?

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
Not all hardtails are designed to be fast XC bikes.

Even with XC bikes, it is not really about how far you fall: it is about how hard you hit the ground.

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
A hardtail frame is similar to a BMX frame in among other things, that they are not all made for the same purpose or to take same kind of abuse. A racing BMX frame is built for speed. A BMX for dirt jumping or street/park tricks is built to take more abuse.

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
perttime said:
Not all hardtails are designed to be fast XC bikes.

example please, not really sure why you would want a hardtail for all mtn or DH or freeride

Even with XC bikes, it is not really about how far you fall: it is about how hard you hit the ground.
that would fall under the term finesse

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
Example?

a few burly ones:

Banshee Morphine
Transition Vagrant
Knolly Free Radical (still not in production)
Chromag TRL

still a bit tough to be called XC bikes:

Banshee Scirocco
Santa Cruz Chameleon
Cove Stiffee

there's more (a lot more)

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
perttime said:
Example?

a few burly ones:

Banshee Morphine
Transition Vagrant
Knolly Free Radical (still not in production)
Chromag TRL

still a bit tough to be called XC bikes:

Banshee Scirocco