Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm a noob and hoping to get some advice on what mountain bike is right for me.

I will be riding in a 50/50 split of paved roads and off road trails.

The off road trails will not be anything extreme. I will not be doing anything big jumps or anything like that. The trails will range from gravel terrain to dirt single tracks.

I'm 24, 5'9" and 175lbs and have played competitive sports my whole life and in good shape.

I have a budget of $500 for the bike. I'm hoping to get some guidance since there are so many options.

I live in the Cleveland, OH area and there seems to be many bikes on Craigslist, but I'm not sure what I should be looking at.

I would appreciate if anyone would like to search Clevealnd's Craigslist for a deal I should check out?

Thanks for your time and help!

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
50/50 by time or by miles? I ask because my lunch ride is majority-pavement by miles, maybe 50/50 by time, and pretty much feels like MTB. The trails are relatively technical, and I find I'm quite happy to be on a mountain bike. I don't make any special allowance for the road portion either.

Really any mountain bike that has a good riding position and doesn't pedal like ass ought to do.

Look for a mid-2000s hardtail with a suspension fork and disc brakes. Check against bikepedia.com if you want to know about price or original equipment.

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
if you're looking for a used bike, make sure to compared it to
costco has a $300 XCT equipped bike new. Northrock Bike - Mountain Bike - xc6
If something goes wrong with the bike, you can always return it. If you do get the costco bike, make sure you go over it and learn how to adjust your brakes, shifting, on youtube. with costco's return policty, it's really hard to beat that bike.