Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Think Circles!
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to the Front Range and riding in the cold. I think I have the layering method pretty well nailed down but I'm wondering if I could be doing something different.

Here's what I wear for 20-30 degree conditions. Closest to skin first

PolyPro socks under Smartwool (Feet still get cold)
Spandex riding shorts - Wicking blend type long johns- North Face windproof pants
Wicking T-Shirt - Wicking Long sleeve thermal - Thin Fleece jacket - Windproof Nylon Jacket
Bike specific riding cap - helmet
Windproof insulated Gloves. (I've tried a few different pairs and can't find anything to keep my hands warm)

So what are you wearing? Where can I improve. I'm generally warm, but tend to sweat a lot and need to do a lot of zipping and unzipping based on effort.

·
holding back the darkness
1,734 Posts
Bike shorts, homemade knickers, knee warmers, thermal socks, shoe covers.
Wool jersey
Lightweight wind-resistant shell.
Home Depot brand work gloves.

Sounds to me like you have too many layers. Start out cold and work your way warm-enough but not hot. A wool base layer has a large comfort range, and the light windproof jacket with pit zips is the damper to control how much airflow/cooling you get. Should be all you need for temps down into the low 20s.

Hands and feet are tough..... some people have luck with neoprene gloves like the kind that are used for diving or icefishing. I usually just go with the cheap work gloves from the depot.. i got three pairs for $12. Once upon a time I had a homebuilt headlight that ran off a 12v motorcycle wet cell I kept in a backpack. I converted some electric snowmobile handwarmers for handlebar use and wired them in. Warmest hands ever. Heaviest backpack ever.