Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong area. I am a newbie when it comes to angle sets.

I have a diamondback catch 2 2017. tl;dr please help me understand how to select the correct angleset for my bike! I think a 2 degree change angleset is what I want but I have no idea which model i need.

My thought process and project:

The DB Catch has a head angle of 68 and a fox float 34 130mm with 51mm offset. I am looking to upgrade to a fox 36 150mm with 44mm offset. I was assuming this would slacken the HTA by one degree but also slacken the STA which is not good. So I was wanting to use a 2 degree angleset to further slacken the HTA and slightly fix the STA.

Looks like my BB raises a bit with this fork change. I have seen online that they suggest to run the 130MM fork at 15% sag. I assume that the geometry quoted by DB is using this sag figure. If I run the 150MM fork at 20% sag, that shortens the forks length by 10.5mm which should help the BB go down the rest of the way and fix the STA the rest of the way.

1. I hope what I am saying above makes sense and is correct. Please tell me if I am way off base. Will this affect any other geometry of the bike?

2. I don't understand at all how to select the correct angle set to be able to do this and was hoping someone could explain this to me. Thanks so much!

·
damned rocks...
2,640 Posts
You are more or less correct on your assumption, see the next chart:

The values are for a size M, I got the value from the net so I'm not sure if they are accurate.

You must use the head-tube length to select the correct angleset, take notice that the head-tube length change with the frame size.
You also must know what kind of headset you frame can take, I think they are:
Top SHIS: ZS44/28.6
Bottom SHIS: ZS56/40
Again, values got from the net, so not sure if they are accurate.