Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Retro Grouch
2,091 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure I've gone through 20 or so bikes over the last 20 years and still own over half of them. There is, interestingly on one bike I can say I didn't like. Once I started riding single speed about six years ago, the only geared bike I regularly rode was one I attached my Alley Cat onto and rode around with my son. I saw this 7 speed Karakoram on ebay and with the recent addition of a new Z2 shock it seemed the perfect thing. Well to say the least I was not satisfied with the bike. Primarily I think it was the geometry. The front end was very light and the steering was sluggish. When climbing, it was sometimes impossible to keep the front end of the bike down and the down hill were downright dangerous; it almost seemed the bike didnot want to turn.

How about you? Any bike that had a shorter life than you expected?

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
that is funny....

I had a GT Backwoods that I converted to SS because I didnt click with it. Any time I ride it, it feels like a chopper or something...I just could not get used to the HT angle I guess.

Even once I converted to SS, I couldnt salvage the relationship...still have it hanging in the rafters....some day it will become a project of some sort.

·
Registered
804 Posts