Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Premium Member
107 Posts
I noticed the rolling resistance on my Heckler MX was really dragging. However I was surprised to find that the PSI was in the high 30s. I ended up filling the tires up the rated 50 PSI and the difference was night and day.

The upside
Rolling resistance improved noticeably: I was mainly staying in the highest gear whereas before I would typically default to the second highest gear. The minion DH2s and DHRs are way less draggy than I thought

The downside
Going down the same dirt and grass hills I'd gone down before, I noticed the tires felt more "slippery". I even had to catch the bike as it started to slip.

I know from car racing that PSI can make a difference however being a bike newbie, I never expected anything so dramatic just by adjusting PSI. I bought Dissectors to improve rolling resistance. Maybe now I'll wait to install them.

·
Banned
2,294 Posts
Ummmm are you actually on single track trails? High 30s sounds way to high unless your on gravel or roads.......

I wouldnt measure being in higher gear all the time as being in the "right" or "good" gear. Also are you tubeless?

I am not on an E bike but I literally run 16 psi on my 2.6x 35mm rim 29er and about 22 psi on my 2.4x 30mm rim 27.5.

·
Registered
I'm one wheel smarter than riding a unicycle.
864 Posts
The downside
You haven't been around long enough to know another downside of sharing something like this is how open you leave yourself to horrible judgment from certain members on the site. Thankfully none of them have shown up yet, but you've put the chum in the water, so look out.

Back in the 90s, on 1.95 and 2.0 tires, 35 psi wasn't unheard of, but over time people figured out lower pressures work better for many reasons.

I don't know what sort of gauge you're using, but it may be way far off. A quality gauge will be more accurate. I set pressures before every ride.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts