Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking at the Spinergy Xyclone Disc for my next set of wheels, but what else would yall suggest in the 500ish range?

08 Giant Anthem... 180lb rider... Texas XC conditions... not the smoothest rider so i want to emphasize strength

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
IME-Spinergy was the absolute worse for getting parts from, or simply getting a return phone call from when I worked as a warranty manager in the industry. Maybe they're better now, but I would never buy their product based on those experiences.

A couple options:
-Stans Arch with their house hubs and 2.0/1.7 spokes, 1622 grams and $445
-Go to BWW and check out some wheelsets with them, you can easily build a nice light and durable set for under $500

Both options use standard spokes and parts

·
You wanna go ridin?
297 Posts
I didn't know Stan had hubs.

Anyway Chain Reaction Cycles you could pick up Hope Pro 2s and a ton of rim choices for under $500. For instance Hope Pro 2s and Mavic 819 rims with DT super comps for a little over $400 and they have free shipping to US with orders over $240. Prolly not as light as the stans option but a sturdy wheelset nonetheless. Keep in mind you may be charged customs fees at about 10% or so.

·
Registered
424 Posts
moishlashen said:
I didn't know Stan had hubs.

Anyway Chain Reaction Cycles you could pick up Hope Pro 2s and a ton of rim choices for under $500. For instance Hope Pro 2s and Mavic 819 rims with DT super comps for a little over $400 and they have free shipping to US with orders over $240. Prolly not as light as the stans option but a sturdy wheelset nonetheless. Keep in mind you may be charged customs fees at about 10% or so.
+1 for Chain Reaction Cycles

Custom
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Kits.aspx?ModelID=7599

Prebuit.
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=15900

·
Premium Member
3,029 Posts