Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy everybody!

Been lurking for a while now, just thought I'd jump in and say hi.

I know there's a few Cumberland area riders around here, but haven't seen many posts about riding here in the area.

I'm a relative noob, as I haven't really turned a pedal in anger since about 16....man, long time ago!

Anyway, I've been riding the Gap almost daily lately, as directed by the guys at CTC. Last week was extremely sloppy, and really, not a good way to get back into the swing (or stroke...zing!) of things. Ran to the homesite yesterday, not sure I'm ready for that climb yet!

Question: At the homesite...do you guys drop in straight down the mountain? Seems virtually impossible this time of year with all the wet leaves.

Anyway...rode the loop today, and found alot of the "locals" stuff. The ground being frozen made life quite a bit easier. Only issues I really had were the wet leaves (spinning up) and the frozen ruts.

All in all, I'm loving it! Just wanted to stop in and say hi. Hope to meet some of you guys soon!

Cheers,

Lee

·
Registered
168 Posts
I'm from Frederick- not technically Western MD, which I don't consider being until you're at least at Hagerstown. Anyway, I was going to try and ride Greenridge this spring, and am interested in other rides in the area. By the "gap" do you mean Rocky Gap State Park? I haven't heard anything about riding there, but would be interested in that too since it's close to Green Ridge.

Glad to hear you're having fun getting back into it. I'm kind of in the same boat. Started it for exercise, and just as something to do, then it turned into "hey this is good exercise, and pretty cool too!"

·
Registered
1,149 Posts