Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Holy schnikey, rode my geared HT 26r today and damn near had to turn around and get my SS 29r. Rode my new bike for about 3 weeks straight and I don`t think I can step down to riding my geared rig again. I was completely lost on the hills trying to figure out what gears to be in. This may be the last of the geared rides except for on roadie days and i have a single for that also. :madman:

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
Put more time into it and I'm sure you could be good at both :thumbsup:

With only one bike I stick with SS full time, but I'm very jealous and would love to have a second bike with gears to switch it up when I want. I know I could put it to good use on a few of the trail loops here

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Geared is all i used to ride but since i started riding my SS mostly i could care less about my geared ones. Bikes with multiple gears will help get you in shape, SS will increase your conditioning or something like that, it is all in the spin.

·
Birthday Collector
2,610 Posts
After an injury that kept me off the bike for October, and then only getting to ride the weekends (sometimes only one day...) I have started to seriously consider putting my 29'er into 1 x 9 mode for a few weeks to try to get a base back. Not sure if I'll be liking it, but at least I should make it up the hills. After fighting a cold this week, went for a late morning ride this AM and the steepers sections on the SS were killing me. Started a planned ride of about 19 - 20 miles and bailed into a less-than-12 miler. Felt like doo-doo and decided to listen to my body. Still have all the stuff from my 2 x 9 version for riding a loaded trip on this bike. Might go with a 32t fr and a 11-34 cassette for a few weeks. Damn I hate chain clatter/derailleur noisr though!

·
Registered
286 Posts