Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the whole MTB business and I was at a few local shops today trying out a bunch of different bikes. What I'm going to be using the bike for is cross country trail riding, so in my searches today I wasn't looking for a full suspension bike, I was generally only looking at Hardtail bikes.

I tried:
Kona Blast $849 CDN
Norco Storm $849 CDN
Specialized Hardrock Comp $789 CDN
Trek 4500 $779 CDN
Giant Iguana $849 CDN

All of them were 05 models I believe.

At the last shop I was at, they had the Trek and Giant bikes, the salesperson told me that Giant had found a leftover 2003 Warp DS2. This is a full suspension bike and they were selling it for $800 CDN.

I have narrowed my choices down to the 05 Trek 4500 which I really liked, as well as the 03 Warp DS2. I called another place that sold Trek bikes and they said they had the same 4500 model for $669.95 CDN, so when I make my final decision, if it happens to be the Trek, I'll ask this other place if they'll match their price.

Anyway, what do you guys think? Also if I were to purchase the Warp, it would be right off the shelf as is, since there aren't any others. I'm not exactly sure if it's the right size for me. I forgot to ask about how big the frame was. It seemed ok, but I'm around a 16 - 17" frame, so I guess if the warp isn't in that range that makes my decision easy.

Am I correct in saying that the only difference between the two bikes is the fact that you have V brakes, full suspension and 27 speeds on the warp while the 4500 has disc, front fork only and 24 speeds? Basically all I'm paying for is full suspension, correct?

If anyone has an opinion on the subject, by all means let me know. I really appreciate it.

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
in that price range, i would stay away from dual-suspension. save weight, maintenance, power, etc

·
There's no app for this.
5,369 Posts
It depends