Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many of you lost weight from biking?

I'm a big girl (not fat fat, just thick lol), but VERY active. I started riding bike about 3 months ago, and already lost totally 15 # so far. I had to change my lifestyle before signing a death certificate as diabetes, bloodpressure runs in my family, so I had to do something with my health before too late, as I find biking is my daily activity as I love riding bikes and it's a GREAT stress relief. I have never use sugar as it's too sweet for me, I mostly use splenda, I have eaten more vegies/fruits on my plate, etc.

So what about you? What diet do you do? Do you do more than biking to lose weight?

·
Registered
751 Posts
I've always been a pretty health-conscious guy, and never had any major health or weight issues. However, I would say biking has definitely helped me avoid those problems. I'm 33 years old, but feel healthier and stronger than I did when I was 22 and biking is a huge part of that. Besides physical exercise, I love the freedom and relaxing feeling of riding a bike whether it is commuting to work on the roads or picking my way through a rock garden.

Congratulations on your lifestyle change. It is not easy to do, but you are just hitting the tip of the iceberg when it comes to benefits of biking!

·
pedal pusher
2,712 Posts
Every winter, I seem to gain about 10lbs or so through laziness and gluttony (mmm, gluttony...."drool*). Then, as soon as spring hits and I'm back on my bike, I lose it and get back to my old self within a few weeks.

·
Registered
844 Posts
I don't diet really. I workout 4-6 times a week, 2-3 of those are rides. With that activity level I can mostly do as I please, but I try to be sensible.