Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious how many others are using water bottles and a saddle bag vs a Camelbak? I have been using a Camelbak when mtn-biking for the past 20 years but my neck and shoulders can't really take it anymore. I ordered and just received some bottle cages/bottles and a saddle bag and am going to give that a go. I'll save the Camelbak for long rides which are becoming fewer and fewer anyways these days.

Anyone else in the same boat? I am a typical weekend warrior hardtail XC rider if that even matters.

· Registered
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Water Bottle for me. I used to use a Saddle bag, however my Dropper Post and SWAT box made it impossible and unnecessary.
Yea I am not sure on the saddle bag but am not really sure how else I would carry the spare tube and tools

EDIT: Had no idea that SWAT box thing existed, maybe I'll look into that eventually

· GONE
42,770 Posts
Depends on the length/time spent on a given ride.

For a 5-10 mile quickie from home, I have a saddle bag and a bottle in a cage.

For 15-20 miles, I use a hip pack with one bottle, and another bottle in a cage.

For rides any longer than that, I will wear a full pack with a bladder or 2-3 bottles of water plus one in the cage.

· Premium Member
579 Posts
As others pointed out, it's relative to the ride for most. For me, I utilize all 3 on both my bikes. Camelbak as bulk of the water, plus food, medical/emergency/supplies. Saddle bag has tools, tube, and parts. And then I have backup water in the form of a bottle. This allows me to use a small pack and saddle bag (one bike has SWAT system, but same difference).

· Self Appointed Judge&Jury
84,227 Posts