Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding seriously for about 5 years now and racing for 3. I have no fitness problems or issues getting up to speed on technical trails, I can pick lines & maintain momentum. But, I still have issues with my front wheel washing out on fast corners, and I end up low-siding pretty hard on occasion.

I'm interested in some opinions. What is the most likely culprit for washing out my front wheel - too high tire pressure? (I typically run 40 lbs and I weigh 175.) Leaning too far forward? Tire choice (python UST lights)? Am I just trying to go too fast through the corners? Am I just a skirt?

·
suck it trebeK
418 Posts
I'm also interested in this. I watch other people take corners at light speed like they're on rails, yet if I try any highspeed corners my front wheel always slides out. How do they do it??

·
Registered
3,982 Posts
dongustav said:
I've been riding seriously for about 5 years now and racing for 3. I have no fitness problems or issues getting up to speed on technical trails, I can pick lines & maintain momentum. But, I still have issues with my front wheel washing out on fast corners, and I end up low-siding pretty hard on occasion.

I'm interested in some opinions. What is the most likely culprit for washing out my front wheel - too high tire pressure? (I typically run 40 lbs and I weigh 175.) Leaning too far forward? Tire choice (python UST lights)? Am I just trying to go too fast through the corners? Am I just a skirt?
I don't know what techniques you are familiar with, but there are many things that you can do to improve cornering traction.

1) keep outside leg straight and weight bearing