Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Code Burr
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got way too many bikes sitting around in my garage now.
I'd like to hang them vertically on the wall.
I was going to mount a 2x4 to the studs and use some hooks to hold the front wheels.
What works for the hooks and would a 2x6 be better for mounting?
Anyone had a bike drop or a hook rip out of the timber?
I've seen lots of bike hooks at walmart and home depot but they screw in and i'm afraid the weight of the bikes would pull them out. I need something secure.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Just go to your favorite big box and buy bike hooks. They are secure and will not pull out. I've been using them for 20 years and never had one pull out. Right now there are 7 bikes hanging in my garage. A 2x4 will work fine. My bikes hang from hooks screwed into a 2x6 attached to the roof joists rather than the wall but both will work. The 2x6 is attached with two 2 1/2 inch screws at each joist. No worrys. Just do it.

·
just along for the ride
3,033 Posts
2X4 is fine, cheap hooks work great, get the vinyl coated to avoid scraching up the rims. Also predrill the hole to the right size before installing hooks. I have a few bikes up like that and they even made it through a 6.5 quake a few years ago without falling.

·
Probably drunk right now
6,753 Posts
59¢

thebronze said:
I was going to mount a 2x4 to the studs and use some hooks to hold the front wheels.
I've seen lots of bike hooks at walmart and home depot but they screw in and i'm afraid the weight of the bikes would pull them out. I need something secure.
The bike hooks work just fine. They'll hold a lot more weight than a bike, so long as they're screwed in to studs.

They cost 59¢ at Home3 Depot.

·
Glad to Be Alive
43,009 Posts
Brown_Teeth said:
2X4 is fine, cheap hooks work great, get the vinyl coated to avoid scraching up the rims. Also predrill the hole to the right size before installing hooks. I.