Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
735 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be passing thru Tuscon, Phoenix, Prescott, Sedona, Flagstaff, and Grand Canyon area on a road trip out west next weekend (approximately, it is a road trip and has no set schedule) and I would like to get at least one ride in somewhere. I am a expert level rider, and I am going with two friends, one of which is good (maybe sport level) and one who is a beginner (not much riding experience). However none of us are in particularly good shape since our western NY riding season ended months ago. We would also need to rent bikes since we can't bring our own. Any suggestions on places to ride that are warm, have both technical and easier trails, and can rent good bikes nearby? I've done some looking but there are so many places to choose from I thought I would see what the locals have to say. Thank you for any advice.

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
i reccommend south mountain for everyone. see the sticky at the top. this trail has mormon/national for the expert/sport and desert classic for the not so expert. plenty of shops willing to rent as well. hawes is another great one, and dna cycles rents i believe.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Buffalo area, I live in South Wales. Even though we have not really got any snow so far this year and it hasn't been that cold, it is wet all the time and that really limits riding options.

I originally posted before reading the sticky at the top, my bad. However that gives so many options it makes my head spin. Also I don't know what areas are cold or snowy in the winter months, but I would assume the more southern areas are probably warmer?

·
I am Walt
6,366 Posts
I'm from Orchard Park...been here for 5+ years.

Your best bets are Phoenix and Tucson, and maybe Prescott and Sedona, depending on the weather. Lots of options here in the Phoenix area; something for everyone.