Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I just picked up a vintage RaceFace XY seat post for about $20.

After I got home I discovered that the width between the rails of the clamp is only 38mm, then I discovered that this is somewhat of a problem since most modern seats' rails are about 44mm apart.

I tried squeezing the rails together with one of my seats and it works, but it is seriously bending the rails.

Suggestions of a decent MTB seat with rail spacing that's about 38mm (or even 40mm) is much appreciated.

I'm also guessing that anything type of rails are bendable other than carbon (and possibly titanium).

Thanks in advance.
Ruler Office ruler Gas Machine Metal

· Registered
4,174 Posts
Saddle rails all have the same width and have been that way at least since the 80s when I started riding. Either something is wrong with your saddle, or the seatpost is broken or missing parts.

Reactions: rain164845

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Saddle rails all have the same width and have been that way at least since the 80s when I started riding. Either something is wrong with your saddle, or the seatpost is broken or missing parts.
Thanks - I googled image this seatpost and all of them look pretty much the same as mine (unless some internal parts I'm missing). And my two other seats are also the same width.

I might have to email Raceface and see what they have to say.

· Registered
441 Posts
I assume race face will laugh, and then reply that they don't have parts for that post anymore. That is how they replied to me when I emailed them about a lockring for the spider of one of my old cranks. They have been sold at least once since that post came out, so I don't hold it against them.