Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
meow meow
10,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so heres the deal: i have an 08 jamis xam and love everything about it but the 68.5 ha. i find it to be just a bit too steep for what i ride (and honestly i think its fairly silly a 150mm bike was designed with a steeper ha but hey, im no engineer). anyways i would love to slack it out some so im thinking of two options: 1, get a x fusion vengence, the a2c is about 10mm more than my 55 and 20mm would slack it out a degree right so i would get half a degree right?. and 2, wait for the 44mm angleset. im kinda hesitant on that cuz ive only heard rumbles on the internet and really have no clue how viable an option that would be. if you read that whole thing thanks, any insights as to what to do?

*spark notes: want to slack my 08 jamis xam out a bit. how should i do it? :thumbsup:

·
meow meow
10,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
mullen119 said:
From what I can tell, half a degree will be pretty accurate, The only downfall will be the seat angle changing as well. I would lean towards the new fork rather then the angleset if it was me.
thats what im thinking too. either a vengeance or a 170 lyrik. any input on either?

·
Registered
163 Posts
I've had better luck choosing a shorter rear shock than a longer fork, unless the bike is too low in the BB height anyway. The advantages of lowering your BB as well as slacking out your head angle make a much faster bike and outweighs the slight loss in rear travel. I've done it by buying a shorter shock and by buying a shorter shaft and modding the shock - pretty easy with a dhx or manitou where the rebuild guides are online - this way also gets you used to stripping and rebuilding the shock so you are more likely to start playing with the shim stack to perfect your damping.
All that being said - the angleset is going to be a great tool on many bikes. In fact I'm planning a bike with a shorter shock AND an angleset!

·