Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I have been abusing my Original Surly Slugs rat bike 1 X 1 for way too many years and the canti brakes are giving up the ghost. I have a set of XTR V levers ready to go and am wondering what V-brake is the bestus with no costs considered vs bestest for the lestest.
Help a brother out and give me the 411 on your thoughts. I am disc only on my geary mtb and still on canties for the CX bikes. Never bought a set of Vs other than mini Vs for a cross bike.

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
the "bestest for the lestest" is any v-brake with KoolStop pads. Black pads for dry, salmon for wet, black/salmon for a good mix

·
Combat Wombat
1,621 Posts
Thom H said:
Well, I have been abusing my Original Surly Slugs rat bike 1 X 1 for way too many years and the canti brakes are giving up the ghost. I have a set of XTR V levers ready to go and am wondering what V-brake is the bestus with no costs considered vs bestest for the lestest.
Help a brother out and give me the 411 on your thoughts. I am disc only on my geary mtb and still on canties for the CX bikes. Never bought a set of Vs other than mini Vs for a cross bike.
You have a good start with a set of XTR levers, got a couple sets of those myself. XTR V-brakes sure look cool, but for the money, you are hard pressed to do better than a set of Avid SD-7s, especially if you take boomn's advice and get some Koolstop pads to match your conditions.

·
Dive Bomber
770 Posts
I use Avid SD7 both brake and lever, compared to XT or XTR which one is better?

I just know that XT V-brake have different shape than other V-brake so just maybe it's better than SD7.

SD7 brakeset is only $30 while XT is $25 V-brake only without lever.

·
3,707 Posts
I've still got an old school Avid SD 2.0 on my Stumpy. If they ever get replaced, it will be either XTR or Paul Love.

·
Combat Wombat
1,621 Posts
jackspade said: