Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to save weight from my race bike by switching from UST tires to regular tires with Stans system. I can get Michelin Comp S Lite tires from my brother (who works at Michelin) for next to nothing, but then I read that Michelin tires are not recommended for use with Stan's system. Can anyone confirm that this is a bad idea?? I'm just wondering whether I should go the cheap route (I'm a poor student and can't afford to drop alot on tires) and risk it or whether this is going to be a set up for failure.....

Any input would be appreciated!
Thanks

Twiggy

·
Registered
761 Posts
Not a good combo, Twiggy...

The Comp Ss were one of the tires with too loose fitting a bead to safely be run with Stans. I had two literallyand simultaneously blow right off the rim, shooting latex every where. Glad it happened after a long climb and during a break -- before I bombed the 7 mile downhil. I was sitting, eating a powerbar, when I heard something akin to a gun shot. I looked behind me and there it was: two tires completely off the rim and a latex covered bikel.

Twiggy said:
I'm trying to save weight from my race bike by switching from UST tires to regular tires with Stans system. I can get Michelin Comp S Lite tires from my brother (who works at Michelin) for next to nothing, but then I read that Michelin tires are not recommended for use with Stan's system. Can anyone confirm that this is a bad idea?? I'm just wondering whether I should go the cheap route (I'm a poor student and can't afford to drop alot on tires) and risk it or whether this is going to be a set up for failure.....

Any input would be appreciated!
Thanks

Twiggy

·
i heart singletrack
1,553 Posts
My experience...

... isn't good. A 2-inch rip in the sidewall of a Michelin Hot S after less than two months.