Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Banned
16,457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I could have sworn I posted this one before... Form data seems to be saved in my browser...

The question is as follows:

I can buy a used 66 RC2x on my local market pretty easily and inexpensively. The price is comparable to the prices on a NEW Travis 180 TPC+.

Which one would you pick and why? I've never used a Manitou product before, and the 66 is proven, although a bit heavier. Both are in the same travel range, though I haven't confirmed the A2C height of the Travis. It's said the Travis is easy to service and to tune the shim stacks. The 66 is not that hard to service either, and in addition to the HSC X cart, it offers oil height bottom out.

Any thoughts on Manitou? I hear the TPC+ is quite good, although I've never tried it in many years.

·
noMAD man
12,227 Posts
The Travis with TPC+ is a very solid and reliable fork. The Intrinsic models functioned just as well, but the damper service requires an annoying bleeding process. Intrinsic is great for rear shocks, but a little problematic for a fork IMO. The biggest advantage of the 66 may be the full oil bath system vs. the Manitou semi-bath. The full oil bath provides a tuning tool as well as longer service intervals. The Manitou semi-bath isn't a big deal, but I've always liked the full bath Marz system. That said, my primary fork has become a 160 Nixon 20mm/TA w/TPC+ while my 66SL has taken secondary duties. Both forks you're considering are excellent. I've used several Marz HSCV and later damper models along with several TPC+ Manitou forks. Both have been relatively bombproof with great performance. Most complaints on Manitou forks have involved damping systems other than TPC+. In the last few years, it seems no company's fork line has been perfect, but both of the models you're looking at are solid performers.

·
I dig trails!
5,611 Posts