Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ripped my old kena kinnetic tires and now i need a new set. i have been looking very closely at the Kenda K-Rads, the Maxxis Holy Rollers, and the Maxxis hook worms. what tires would u recomend..

-steve

·
100% Cheesy Goodness
489 Posts
sreiman said:
I ripped my old kena kinnetic tires and now i need a new set. i have been looking very closely at the Kenda K-Rads, the Maxxis Holy Rollers, and the Maxxis hook worms. what tires would u recomend..

-steve
Check out the arrow launch. I have been running them for 2 years on my dj/urban/commuter, and i love them and really dont want to ride anything else. I have a K Rad collecting dust in my closet. The launches are nice cause they have a medium heavy sidewall so they arent nearly as flimsy as the Krads, but not as heavy as the hookworms. Another plus about em is that they dirt jump incredibly well. The only time i have ever had a problem with them is when it gets really wet, or super loose and dry. they roll super fast but dont wash out too easily on hard pack. with about 50-60psi of air they are perfect for the urban, drop it down to 35-40psi and they are good for jumps. they are reasonably priced, and with commuting 3-4 days a week with only a rear brake i get about 4-6mo of wear out of them. check em out i doubt you will be disappointed.

·
Registered
302 Posts
I run Maxxis holy rollers and they hook up real nice on street and hardpack. Fairly lightweight and really resistant from pinch flats. Havent ridden them but the arrow launches seem nice too.

·
Registered
5,396 Posts
sreiman said:
how wide are the arrow launches?
question is how wide do you want them?

i usually ride 2.3's, but because my friend won't give me my krads back (my advice is to get them, but i haven't tried launches) i have to run hookworms.... krads are better than hookworms, hook worms can't hold up on anything ANYTHING but cement....

·