Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
A wheelist
5,991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
.........deal with them especially if you live in Canada and you need goods from outside of the country.

About two months ago, a USA bike related company that I do a lot of business with e-mailed and said they were shipping me a gift for my past service/business. I was happy! A few days later a woman from UPS phoned to ask about this item, was it a gift, was I a business, what was my grandmother's maiden name, yada, yada.

I asked if I was going to be charged Customs fees and she couldn't (or wouldn't) answer.

As I've imported hundreds of shipments from the USA over the last 30+ years I'm a semi expert of who to deal with for shipping. I tell people on this forum "Deal through USPS and Canda Post ONLY". I've repeated that a zillion times.

But as this item was shipped without my knowledge I had no control over it. I figured that I was safe as I'd be able to refuse it at the door when the OOPS man delivered it if it was going to cost me a fortune.

The OOPS man arrived and handed over the package. Off he went. I was home free! No charges!

Ahem. That was about 6 weeks ago. Today a bill arrived.

This was on a declared $25 "Gift" -
Entry Prep Fee - $7.00
Disbursement Fee - $5.85
CA COD Surcharge (???) - $4.25
Duty - $0.00 (gifts under $60 aren't dutiable)
Customs GST - $0.90
Brokerage GST - $0.30
Total - $20.24

As I only got to know the charges about 6 weeks after the package arrived I had no chance to refuse it at the door. I'm sure UPS works that way for a very good reason.

Today I got bent over and shafted up the arse. Never again. Say NO to UPS.

By the way - I would imagine all the other private shippers (Fed-Up etc) are the same.