Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 08 Giant STP, really fun bike but I noticed the brakes are somewhat lacking. I know they are still breaking in but the performance feels very spongy compared to my regular ride using Shimano DX disc brakes.

I'm considering upgrading the brakes on the bike to Avid BB7's including the levers and cables. But also thinking of a base model hydros. Here's what I would like from a brake set.

Adjustable lever
Adjustable play/contact (not sure if using right term)
Less maintenance

I used to bleed and change the fluids on my motorcycle brakes and never liked doing this. If the BB7's are a big upgrade from the current Hayes MX4 (OEM) brakes I would prefer this.

I weight about 150lbs with my backpack and ride mostly trails, don't need super stopping power but at least more than I'm getting with my Shimano DX brakes. :)

·
Registered
934 Posts
I've had some experience with all that you mentioned, rim brakes, BB7 and Juicy 7. My hydros are brand new and have only had 2 rides on them. By far I love the Juicy 7s much more than the others. The BB7s are fine but found myself adjusting them more and more as time went by. The Juicy 7s just feel so much more comfortable, almost effortless. It has lever reach adjustment as well as pad contact/modulation adjustment. They have been perfect so far. So good in fact that I just ordered a pair for my other bike. As for maintanence, I usually do most of the work on my bikes but it may be a while (I hope!) until I have to bleed the brakes...so can't tell you if it's a pain or not. Sounds like it would be though. I recommend Juicy 7s over BB7s for sure.

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
"I know they are still breaking in but the performance feels very spongy compared to my regular ride using Shimano DX disc brakes.