Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I am a beginner rider, just bought a Giant Revel 3. I am too advanced for the bike already but dont have the $ or talent for anything in the $1500 + range quite yet. I would like to upgrade to disc brakes, and wheels of course to fit. Also a new fork, 120mm preferably. Any suggestions? I am trying to stay within a 400-500 budget. Thanks!

Here are my bike specs:
Large
FrameALUXX-Grade Aluminum
ForkSR Suntour XCT V4, 100mm Travel
Shock N/A

<tbody>
</tbody>
Components
HandlebarHigh Tensile Steel, Mid-Rise, 25.4
StemGiant Sport
SeatpostGiant Sport, 30.9
SaddleGiant Sport Trail
PedalsNylon Platform

<tbody>
</tbody>
Drivetrain
ShiftersSRAM X3, 3x7 Speed
Front DerailleurShimano M191
Rear DerailleurSRAM X3
BrakesAlloy Linear Pull
Brake LeversTektro, 2-Finger
CassetteShimano TZ31 14x34, 7-Speed
ChainKMC Z51
CranksetSR Suntour NEX w/Chainguard, 24/34/42
Bottom BracketSuntour, Sealed Cartridge

<tbody>
</tbody>
Wheels
RimsGiant Alloy, Double Wall
HubsAlloy, 32h
SpokesStainless Steel, 14g
TiresGiant Sport, 26x2.1

<tbody>
</tbody>

·
bacon! bacon! bacon!
12,423 Posts
Don't do it. Continue to ride the bike until you save enough to upgrade to a new ride. Put the $500 you plan to use for upgrades into the "new bike fund"...

For $4-500 for disc brakes, wheels, and a fork the *best* you can hope for are a bunch of mediocre components.

·
bacon! bacon! bacon!
12,423 Posts
Recon won't fit (1.5" steerer) and the Fox will throw your geometry out of whack significantly. Figure in the cost of installation (unless you're going to do all this work yourself?).

Seriously - for $500 it's not worth upgrading a bunch of stuff. It just isn't. Isn't that more than the cost of the bike?

·
Your Best Friend
5,305 Posts
That fox also has a 15mm thru-axle. You'll need a new front hub/wheel rebuild for that one. Save your money and buy a nicer bike.

·
Registered
46 Posts