Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to all this but I am going to be upgrading a few parts on my talon 2.

Current stock parts are--

I'm going to upgrade my cassette for sure nothing crazy, was looking at the sram pg850, but also want upgrade my rear derailer to a x7 or x9. Currently have x4 shifters, will they still work?

What else do you guys recommend to upgrade while I'm there?

Thanks in advance

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

·
DFMBA.org
1,874 Posts
I would upgrade the crankset to XT or X7/9. I had a similar Suntrash crank on another bike and the thing was a boat anchor. If you go this route you'll have to upgrade the cassette and the chain to make the whole system new.

Sent from my mountain bike while crashing

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well I order the cassette and chain already, I do agree with you, my current cranks feels real heavy

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Any cranks out there under $100 that are better than my current?

·
Registered
626 Posts
Ribble has the SLX cranks for $99. That crank is also a good candidate for a single ring up front for cheap, if you want to go that route.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
With a single ring up front I'm guessing I would have to also change the derailer?

·
Registered
626 Posts
Normally if you make the switch to a single ring in front, the front derailleur and front shifter are removed from the bike. Along with the multiple chain rings this results in a weight reduction of up to 2lbs (a lot of low end chain rings are boat anchor steel).

Even if you do not go 1x front, the SLX cranks are available in 2x and 3x versions. They are fantastic cranks and rings for the $. You can always save a 1x conversion for a later project.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·