Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2012 Rockhopper. Today while riding, my chain broke. I'm missing teeth on my crankset and on my cassette. It's time to upgrade. However, I am really new to terminologies and knowing what matches with what. The guy at my LBS told me not to go with a BB30 - I don't know why... from what I've read, it seems like the lighter choice. I'm trying to find out what is compatible with my bike. I would like to go with a 2x10 setup, and I am looking at the SRAM XX Crankset to begin with. I love the frame on this bike, so I don't want to just get a whole new bike. I'd like to build one and learn how it all comes together as I do.

So, on to some of my questions. What BB is compatible with this frame, without having to modify much? Why would he say "No BB30"? Any tips, recommendation, or feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to go a little lighter as well as quicker shifter, and stronger components.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
New cranksets come with new bottom brakets. Look up the specs to what you have now and buy the same type...then work your way out from there, matching parts all along the way.
I too like my HTail frame and will being doing the same thing once I wear out my stock stuff/or brake it :)
Good Luck
Post PIcs

·
Crash Dummy In Training
1,432 Posts

·
Crash Dummy In Training
1,432 Posts
You'd be crazy but to do the slx at that price. Slx is amazing.
I agree that's why I posted both since some people would try to save the $63 which in my opinion wouldn't be smart.

And after you see the price to go SRAM XX you will change your mind quickly.

I emailed Ribble and asked which bottom bracket it comes with.
Since I'm thinking of grabbing the XT group set for my 2012 Stumpy.
I was already going to Order the brakes anyway.

·
Crash Dummy In Training
1,432 Posts