Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's my wife's bike. Its still in really nice condition (she only rides it on roads/crushed stone trails). I want to upgrade it. As of now its a 7 speed. I wanted to uprgrade it to full LX and make it a 9 speed. I called Giant and they seemed more inclined I don't mess with the bike (another words don't up grade it to a 9 speed). I am not a bike expert, so not sure why they would deter me.

Any advice? The bike is VERY heavy stock. Would like to upgrade it for her birthday in march as a suprise. Thanks!:)

Its actually a 2002.

·
Banned
19,198 Posts
They would try to deter you because for the price of upgrades you could purchase a new bike with as good or better components .

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
AZ.MTNS said:
They would try to deter you because for the price of upgrades you could purchase a new bike with as good or better components .
more than likely. but any advice? can I make the upgrades? will the geometry allow this...the bike was made for a 7-8 speed. not a 9 speed. thanks again.:)

·
Banned
19,198 Posts
X2 , it can be done . I however would not recomend it .

·
On wuss patrol
5,159 Posts
kps88 said:
why would you both not recommend it?
Because of this, likely:

AZ.MTNS said:
They would try to deter you because for the price of upgrades you could purchase a new bike with as good or better components.
Pretty simple. Unless you or she or both are just really partial to this bike for some reason--color, the way it handles or fits, feel it would be most frugal to upgrade, or ??? then by the time you have bought the parts to upgrade, a new and better bike with the changes already done will likely not cost much more. I concur with them.

·
Banned
19,198 Posts
Price the parts needed to complete this project , versus the cost of an equivelant new ride . I would also ask you , do you know what parts you need to complete this project ?

·