Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
hardcore on the bunnyhill
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Happy New Year Folks!

Well I was fortunate enough to get a gift certificate to my lbs from Santa this Christmas. $300! Actually I happened to get $150 from both my wife and my parents, both to the same shop. Anyways, besides giving the money to one of you, i was hoping you could suggest an upgrade for me. I'm a poor college student right now, so this will probably be the only money to spend on my bike all year. I just got the bike tuned up and i think I have all the clothes, hydration, and other stuff like that that i need.

2003 Giant NRS 3
Marz MX pro 105
LX drivetrain
Thomson 30.8 seatpost
panaracer fire xc 2.1
titec stem and handlebar
avid sd3 v-brakes
race face ride xc crank
wtb rocket v saddle
the cheaper low end shimano spd pedals (can't remember the number on them)

ps, while i would love to get some disc brakes, my hubs are not disc compatable (though the frame and fork are).

any suggestions would be great. thanks!

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Buy spare parts

Don't do any upgrades. As you say, you're a poor college student. I say it's time to stuff the parts bin with drivetrain components, brake pads, tubes, and other things that bite you in the ass when you don't have money.

Talk to the LBS, and see if they can cut you a deal on a large component purchase. XT front and rear derailleurs can be found online for about $60 for the combo. LX cranks and BB should be maybe $100. PG 970 cassette $40. Couple of decent 9 speed chains $70. 2 complete sets of brake pads $35. You probably won't get these prices at the LBS, but if you ask them up front to give you their best price, I would hope they would put together a nice package deal.

The bike appears to have a nice build as it is, so I say ride it until something either brakes or wears out, and you'll already have the replacement part(s) in your parts bin.