Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone do this? All the sites talking about bike shorts, say to go commando, but i just wanted to know how important it was to do this.

·
Registered
194 Posts
L&L said:
Does anyone do this? All the sites talking about bike shorts, say to go commando, but i just wanted to know how important it was to do this.
You shouldn't wear underwear under bike shorts for two reasons
1. you would negate the benefit the chamois gives.
2.You will look silly with your underwear showing through the spandex.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They won't show (baggies), and im more interested in the "padding" aspect of the inner liner, but i have no idea how much of an issue chaffing is.

I'm a complete noob to mountain biking, and biking in general (my first real bike won't be here til Wednesday, and i just ordered 2 pairs of the Hoss baggies tonight). I rode thousands of miles as a kid, but we all know that ain't the same.

If anyone reads this, and wears underwear under there baggies, please post.

Thank you for the reply walrasian, i just remember how i hated wearing those swim trunks with the liner already in them as a kid. Hoping mountain biking baggies are not like those.

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
the chamois in bike shorts is not really "padding" its to absorb sweat and cut down on chafing. if you wear underwear under you will get chafing, sores and poss. fungal growth. cotton pretty much sucks next to your skin, it stays wet and keeps the moisture on your skin, plus the seams will hurt. I tried some performance "gel" padded shorts and wasnt too happy. stick with the chamois, your ass will hurt for a month or so untill you get used to the saddle, pads or not. if your getting skin pain vs muscle pain try body glide

·
Registered
5,577 Posts