Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
my girl rides also
650 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
....and I wonder what you fine ladies would suggest. She's close to 6' and has a bit of a longer torso. Naturally, she wants to do it for all the right reasons, but has no idea what she wants. I've been riding for about 4 years now, my first bike being a hardtail, but in retrospect, I would've loved to have some squish under my postierior. I know the advantages of both, but I want her to feel good about what she's riding, and I want her to feel confident. I've never gone the "buy the girlfriend a bike" route before, and I figured this may be a good place to start, or at least research a little of what I don't know.

Any thoughts? I'm just stoked that she's into giving it a whirl.

·
Domestic Fowl
869 Posts
Sometimes it's tough to make recommendations to total newbies becaue they have no frame of reference whatsoever about what they like or dislike or you to tell what's good or bad as far as fit and comfort. It might be worth spending a little time and renting a few bikes. She may figure out that she just flat hates it. Then if you've bought a bike you're stuck with it.

I'd suggest finding a place that rents decent name brand bikes and rent a hardtail and get her out on a trail. Then go back another day and rent a FS bike and ride the same trail again. Riding the same trail allows keeps you from changing too many variables at one time. This will help her figure out what she likes/dislikes about HT vs FS bike.

I'm sure you already realize this, but you'll get a better quality hardtail setup for money than full suspension for the same amount of money. FS bikes cost more because the frames are more expensive to build.

By far, the most important thing about getting a bikes is fit. If you buy a $5000 bike that doesn't fit, the bike is worthless.