Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 375 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am beginning the design of the true ultimate downhill bike. I kicked off my engineering project by purchasing a Super Monster Marzochi forks, 300mm travel. I plan to have disc brakes with a rear floating caliper. I plan on using a shifting hub located in the frame with a single chain going to a single rear cog (chain retension and no derailer to break off). I am seeking more ideas on features to engineer into the bike. It will eclipse everything currently on the market. It will have features never done before. I am a Mechanical Engineer and this will be my second downhill bike design. My first design was a custom donhill bike I designed and built while working at an engineering services company in Soquel, Ca.

Share you ulimate ideas.

Vincent Suro

·
notabouttoseeyourlight
2,659 Posts
make it out of something other than aluminum... internal transmission is a must... i'm assuming bye "ultimate" you're just looking for something that will mash over anything in it's path and won't actually ride well or anything right?

·
Cynical Bystander
6,763 Posts
coma13 said:
make it out of something other than aluminum...
Some 4130 cromoly would go nicely with Super Monsters. :thumbsup: :D :cool: ;)

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ultimate Downhill

I do plan on making the frame from aluminum billet. The reason is that I plan to machine many features into the frame. 4130 is what I used on the first design. .059 wall 4130 to be exact. 4130 sheet metal would be what I would be stuck with for what i have in mind, and would not allow the features I am looking to do. As to the person who said that it wont ride well, how would you know? It may ride better than anything on the market. Keep negativity to yourselves please, positive ideas only :nono: . I havent heard any suggestions yet.