Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
6x7=Dont Panic!
2,014 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cant find many reviews on the ufo rims but they look great. Who has been using them for a while and what are your thoughts? I am just under 170lbs and dont know if I am on the heavy side for the UFOs or what. This is not a racing wheelset, but I want it to be lighter than my current 2000g+ wheelset. I know the mavics are good rims, but the suns are cheaper and in many cases lighter. Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
196 Posts
I have no experience with the UFO's but I do know that they are very narrow... like below 21mm. You might want to wait 'till June for the new Sun's to come out. They're called Lime Lights and should come in around 345-350gr and 22mm wide. In case you're wondering, Dave Thomas from SpeedDream mentioned to me that Sun would be introducing a new light weight XC rim but didn't have much info on them... This led me to calling Sun and the above info is what they told me.

:D

·
6x7=Dont Panic!
2,014 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cant wait till june! Need to finish these wheels soon. And the limelites are non-elyeted so I think Ill stick with the UFOs if anything. Will the width<21mm really matter? How wide is the mavic?

·
Registered
196 Posts
Mantra,
Just curious... How do you know that the Limelights are non-eyeleted? I haven't seen any info on them yet... You got more info? As far as the width is concerned, i'm not sure! I just figured the narrower the rim the less likely it is to be as durable as a wider rim. Have you looked into the Bontrager Valiant? Light and has an excellent track record.

Good luck!

·
6x7=Dont Panic!
2,014 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jakeplazma said:
Mantra,