Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up a 2019 specialized Enduro and looking for a tyre setup.

I'm going to be running two wheelset, in 29". One faster rolling for longer distance and one for more aggressive bombing. Looking between 2.3 and 2.6".

What suggestions would you make? I'm thinking

Aggro:
Eliminator/slaughter
Butcher/purg
assegai/agressor
Dhf/dhr (used before thought they were draggy)
Kenda?
Michelin?

Xc
Rekon/Forekaster
Ardent/ardent race
Xking2 f&r
Vittoria?

I still want to have reasonable rolling on the aggro set. On the xc set I'm pulling options out of my @rse, I have no real experience with 'fast' tyres

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
With no info on your trail conditions it’s hard to comment. My do-all setup with similar gear (multiple wheel sets for my Ripmo) is:

DHF/Aggressor in 2.5” on 35mm rims
Rekon 2.6/2.4 f/r on 29mm rims.

Some good mix/match options here, I like the DHF/Rekon f/r combo for aggressive riding in dry conditions.

When I replace my “aggressive” combo I’ll look for EXO+ casings, and would certainly look at an Assegai instead of a DHF.

I’m also Kenda-curious, and also think the Michelin Wild Enduro combo looks interesting as an aggressive set. New eThirteen TRS tires also seem worth a look.

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Typically hardpack, loose over hard, and loamy tree root infested singletrack is what I ride locally.

I had DHFs, and to be totally honest I only ever found them good nose pointed down, which is about 30% of the ride. For the rest, the grip on offer was not necessary and the drag significant, which meant I struggled for momentum as soon as the trail flattened. I know it's the fail safe choice for a lot of people but I never got along with them.

For aggressive I'd like something with not quite as much ultimate bite as the DHF but more pedal friendly.

For XC, super pedal friendly but not scary slippery/unstable.