Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
HowtoOverthrowtheSystem
923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I'm new to tubeless and have found out that is I use my floor pump and pump like a meth addict that I can get the bead to seal. I have a 24H race this weekend and I was putting some new tires on and trying to pump them up with my Crank Bros pump (the small one) and I couldn't for the life of me pump that sucker up. I tried my Zefal HPX road pump and had the same problem.

If I get a flat during the 24 H race what should I do? I could try CO2 but I think it would just leak out. I'm thinking I'll just throw some tubes in it since it will take awhile to take out the presta core and install a tube, but that will just be adding weight to an already heavy UST tire.

On another note...my dad had a similar problem when he switched his wheels on his Harley from the wire (tubed) to mag wheels (tubeless). He couldn't get them to seal even with an air compressor so he got pissed off and squirted a little ether (starting fluid) in the tire and made a trail leading away from the tire. He lit it and it blew up and sealed the tire. Maybe I should add some ether and a lighter to my repair kit...he added it to his for his trip from Pennsylvania to Alaska! :D

·
LA CHÈVRE
9,429 Posts
While lighting a tire on fire can work on some trucks, cars and motorcycle tires, I wouldn't try it on a bike tire. Different construction, much lighter and thiner casing and beads, chances are the tire will explode and you'll turn deaf.