Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Im new to the biking thing and could use some advice. Yesterday, I blew a tubeless tire which resulted in some nice trail rash and it got me thinking which tire to replace it with. Now, I have looked at the reviews and searched the forums. Im left with one serious question. Im a heavier rider...230lbs. Is there a tire that is more suited for bigger guys while still giving good traction in packed to moderatly loose conditions? Any suggestions would be welcomed... Thanks

·
Pivoteer
3,445 Posts
A larger volume tire might help you. What is the tire you are replacing? Can you give some more details on terrain, riding style, etc.?

For all-purpose tires I would suggest Specialized Resolution front and Roll-X rear. Other great general purpose tires are Hutchinson Spyder, Schwalbe Fat Albert and plenty more.

·
Registered
388 Posts
noxprt said:
...I blew a tubeless tire which resulted in some nice trail rash...
what tire and rim were you using? what air pressure were you running?

sorry, i have no advice for you but I am thinking about jumping into tubeless someday and I don't want to do what you did...

·
Registered
448 Posts
I have a set of Maxxis LUST Crossmark tubeless 2.1 tires on my bike with about 280 miles on them now. Didn't use the Stan's at first but after the first flat with a thorn I added the Stan's to both tires and haven't had any flats since. I didn't want a tire with very aggressive knobbys so I decided on the Crossmarks. I started out running around 50psi but I have dropped pressures to 35f, 40r to reduce sliding in soft dirt. I weigh apprx 215 w/pack.

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
noxprt said:
Hi everyone,